Skip to main content Accessibility Statement

Scottish Higher Education Committee appoints new student members

Date: November 14 - 2023

QAA Scotland is delighted to announce, following a highly competitive nominations process, the appointment of four new student representatives to the Scottish Higher Education Enhancement Committee (SHEEC).

For session 2023-24, the Committee is delighted to welcome to its membership:

  • Connel Greenhorn, VP Education, Heriot-Watt Student Union
  • Miles Rothoerl, Aberdeen University Students’ Association
  • Nyasha Mutembwa, President, Dundee University Students’ Association
  • Eva Curran, President, Strathclyde Student Union 

Speaking about joining the SHEEC committee, Connel Greenhorn, VP Education, Heriot-Watt Student Union, said:

Being appointed to SHEEC as a student representative was important to me to ensure that student voice is at the heart of any enhancement-led activity designed to develop and champion the student learning and teaching experience. In addition, with the movement to a tertiary approach to education in Scotland, it is imperative that student voice supports, informs and underpins this transition.

The Students were in post to attend the first Committee meeting of the session which took place online on 3 October, having completed a short induction. We’re looking forward to working closely with the new Committee members in what promises to an exciting year ahead!